Nikita Clothing’s Awesome Blog

Alice’s Journal Entry

Posted on: April 8, 2009

My epic Montana sled trip was a trip of many firsts: first time going out on a sled into the backcountry, doubling and driving one, first time in the mountains of western Montana, first time riding Whitefish and Lone Trail Powder Mountain resorts, first pond skim!!!

I pretty much showed up in Bozeman and was told that I was going on a sled trip with my buddy Shane Stalling and photographer Jeff Hawe. It was a play-it-by-ear trip the whole way through. Here are some highlights:)

 

p3242159

Jeff and Shane negotiating parking at near Superior, MT. We ended up sledding 20+ miles in, over lots of whoops, over a pass and into Idaho. I learned that day that doubling was a lot of work and that nothing stays attached to a sled flying 40 mph over whoops.

p3252172

Whitefish is a REAL ski town, a ski town where ski patrol buys a keg every Wednesday for everyone.

p3262178

My lone track in the mountains near Glacier National Park.

p3262188

Happy at the bottom of a fun zone.

p3262199

Beautiful burnout at dusk.

p3282206

My first pond skim!! Shane suggest we do doubles…he then destroyed me with his wake. This is at Lone Trail Powder Mountain, a sweet mom and pop resort that is only open on weekends and has only doubles and rope tows! Fresh pow all day and no one there:)

p32822101

Already soaking wet, my second attempt and I made it through!

p3282213

Third go from a little lower down and disaster! But I did end up winning the Best Aqua Scorpion award! You know its a good one when water goes up your nose.

p3282216

It was a good time had by all!

jump-008

jump-0181

 

It was one of those REAL windy days at Mammoth…who’d have thought. Since my recent Montana trip, my new moto is to live by is “when in doubt, go snowmobiling!”. So we took some sleds out to enjoy the views and build a jump. I only got to hit it once by the time we finished building it but hopefully it will snow lots soon:)

 

jump-0171

 jump-0211

p4022219

img_9397

img_9469

img_9514

img_9515

img_9516

img_9537

carve_laugh

I pretty much showed up in Bozeman and was told that I was going on a sled trip with my buddy Shane Stalling and photographer Jeff Hawe. It was a play-it-by-ear trip the whole way through. Here are some highlights:)

Leave a Reply

