Nikita Clothing’s Awesome Blog

Clair Bidez checks in

Posted on: February 6, 2009

Clair has had a rough season with a recent injury. Here’s an e-mail she wrote in yesterday checking in:

Hello Everyone!!  I know it’s been a while so I have a bit to update you on.

First off, the bad news:  I fractured my heel in December.  I was competing in pipe at the Copper Mountain Grand Prix, had a couple flat landings in the finals and… crack.  I’m lucky though.  It’s an incomplete, nondisplaced fracture, which means that I didn’t need a cast or crutches.  Just time off snow.  Long story short, I had a minor crisis, sought the support of my friends, family, and sponsors (thanks everyone at Nikita!), and decided I had two options.

Option #1:  Sulk in self pity and regret and become a lame person to hang out with and have a hard time playing catch-up when I get the ok to ride because I will be considerably weaker in body and spirit by the time that comes around.

Option #2:  Get over it.  Understand that injury is part of the sport I love, and find the silver lining.  I can still work out, do yoga and get my head back on straight.  I can actually be stronger when I come back then I was when I got hurt.

I took the only real option I had, and ran with it.  My trainer, Gillian with the US Team, wrote up a bunch of workouts for me to keep up with, I’ve been doing yoga like crazy, and I’ve started learning how to meditate.  It’s very easy where I live to look out my window and be filled with peace and overwhelmed with gratefulness to be where I am in life.

Now I’m a month and a half into recovery, and I’m going back to the doctor today, in three hours, to find out exactly when I can ride again.  The docs originally told me it would be 2-3 months before I’m recovered, but I’m hoping for an all clear to ride tomorrow!  If not, I might disappear to Mexico for a couple weeks… : )

Five and a half hours later:

So it doesn’t look like I’ll be heading up on the mountain tomorrow… but I won’t be heading to Mexico either!  Dr. Hackett, the amazing orthopedic surgeon that travels with the US Snowboard Team and just so happens to work 45 minutes from my house, reminded me not to get ahead of myself.  I now have permission to progressively work up to riding pipe.  It sounds like this will include two weeks of stairmaster and jumping exercises, and then a week or so of easy riding.

The way I see it- I now have an official countdown and I’ll be on snow, if not in the air, in two weeks!!  Woohoo!  I start physical therapy tomorrow, where I’m told I can expect to get my ass kicked, which I’m actually looking forward to.  So that’s it for now, but I promise to keep you updated on PT and getting back on snow!

P.S.  I got my bf, Ian, a book called Wisdom by Andrew Zuckerman for Christmas.  Ends up I probably benefited from it more than him.  Funny how Christmas presents end up like that, huh?  Anyway, the book comes with a corresponding movie, Wisdom, which shows dozens of respected people, including spiritual leaders, actors, artists, and politicians speaking about “wisdom,” and how wisdom relates to love, work, environment, conflict and resolution.  This DVD really spoke to me, particularly this quote from Chuck Close:

“Inspiration is for amateurs.  The rest of us just show up and get to work.  If you wait around for the clouds to part, and a bolt of lightning to strike you in the brain, you’re not going to make an awful lot of work.”

Since then, whenever I’m feeling lazy or uninspired, I remember those words and they help me get through the day productively and meaningfully.

Check out the trailer to the movie Wisdom at andrewzuckerman.com

09_02_05_mezowil

this photo is me and my babies, Zoe and Willie, who instinctively knew I was hurt and helped me stay lighthearted.

09_02_05_viewThis is the view outside my bedroom of Breckenridge Mountain.

Leave a Reply

